A small list of resources related to games in education

2 min read

This list was a Google doc that I started as a resource for a 6 month long project/class, which revolved around solving the numeracy and literacy issue for a specific demographic. The list is a collection of websties, games and more which recently came back to life with a discussion on chat.gamedev.in. I thought I’d collate all those links and put it up as a blog post so that it can help me and others who are interested in games and/in education.

Last updated on July 11, 2017

A presentation on gamification – https://www.slideshare.net/bamdone/gamification-defining-designing-and-using-it

An article in the Indian Express about the glorification of ‘examination results’ and conventional teaching methods practiced by our society – http://epaper.indianexpress.com/c/8159221

About Science having no boundaries – https://www.ted.com/talks/beau_lotto_amy_o_toole_science_is_for_everyone_kids_included

About society’s views towards children –
https://www.ted.com/talks/adora_svitak?language=en

Here is also a website/community-based platform that is useful for looking up resources regarding education technology in India – http://edtechreview.in/

Extra Credits: Games in Education (Playlist) – https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLhyKYa0YJ_5BIUqSDPmfBuKjTN2QBv9wI

Game Theory’s Top 10 Educational Games – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=COQVPrsTK3Y

Top 5 Edutainment Games – brutalmoose feat. MatPat – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qk87vceekgM

DICE 2010: “Design Outside the Box” Presentation – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nG_PbHVW5cQ

Critical Compilation: Jesse Schell, ‘Design outside the Box’ – http://www.critical-distance.com/2010/04/21/jesse-schell-design-outside-the-box/

Katie Salen + Institute of Play Projects/Work – http://www.instituteofplay.org/work/

Rhetoric of Video Games – Ian Bogost – http://nau.edu/CAL/Interdisciplinary-Writing-Program/_Forms/RhetoricVideoGames_Bogost/

Project Zero – http://www.pz.harvard.edu/

ecoMOBILE(part of ProjectZero)  http://ecolearn.gse.harvard.edu/ecoMOBILE/overview.php

Moving Learning Games forward – http://education.mit.edu/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/MovingLearningGamesForward_EdArcade.pdf

Education in Gaming: Narrative as a Tool for Fostering Engagement – http://www.gdcvault.com/play/1021945/Education-in-Gaming-Narrative-as

Game-Based Learning: Resource Roundup – http://www.edutopia.org/game-based-learning-resources

enGAgeMEnt LAB, Emerson College – http://engagementgamelab.org/

Metamorphabet – http://metamorphabet.com/

Earth Primer – http://www.earthprimer.com/

ECO – https://www.strangeloopgames.com/eco/

MineCraftEDU – https://minecraftedu.com/

Bridge Builder Puzzle games – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bridge_Builder

Human Resource Machine – https://tomorrowcorporation.com/humanresourcemachine

Armadillo Run – http://www.armadillorun.com/

Plague Inc – http://www.ndemiccreations.com/en/22-plague-inc

Big Pharma – http://store.steampowered.com/app/344850/

Concrete Jungle – http://colepowered.com/concrete-jungle/

Habitica – a gamified productivity app – https://habitica.com/static/front

Sokobond – http://sokobond.com

Metabosim – http://www.zachtronics.com/metabosim/

Habitactics – http://www.zachtronics.com/habitactics/

Faktr – http://www.zachtronics.com/faktr/

Shenzhen IO – http://www.zachtronics.com/shenzhen-io/

TIS-100 – http://www.zachtronics.com/tis-100/

Infinifactory – http://www.zachtronics.com/infinifactory/

Spacechem – http://www.zachtronics.com/spacechem/

Twelve a Dozen – http://www.bossastudios.com/games/twelve/

Crafty Cut – http://preloaded.com/case-studies/crafty-cut/

Mlob Rule – http://preloaded.com/case-studies/mlob-rule/

Phoenix Protocol – http://finji.co/phoenix/

TyrAnt – http://preloaded.com/games/tyrant/

More from Zachtronics – http://www.zachtronics.com/

More from Schell Games – https://www.schellgames.com/games

More from Strange Loop Games – https://www.strangeloopgames.com/

Amplify Curriculum and Games – https://www.amplify.com/games

More from Preloaded – http://preloaded.com/case-studies/

GameDesk – http://gamedesk.org/ (seems to be down)

Educade – http://educade.org/

Games from Fields of View – http://fieldsofview.in/projects/

Fate of the world – http://www.soothsayergames.com/

Influent – http://playinfluent.com/

Urban Play – https://urbanplay.co.in/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *